The 2014 World Cup

This is a new series I want to start which is me giving information about all of the World Cups to ever happen. Should be fun and useful information with the 2018 World Cup just months away. I hope you enjoy!

The 2014 World Cup took place in Brazil and in the lead up to the tournament there was controversy, as there always is. Controversy about how much better money could be spent by Brazil to help social problems rather than build stadiums.

The host cities were; Belo Horizonte, Brasília, Cuiabá, Curitiba, Fortaleza, Manaus, Natal, Porto Alegre, Recife, Rio de Janeiro, Salvador, São Paulo. With the final being held in Rio De Janeiro.

There were many star players and teams. Here are a few which stand out:              Germany- Manuel Neuer, Jerome Boateng, Mesut Ozil                                               Argentina- Leo Messi, Javier Mascherano, Gonzalo Higuaín
Brazil- Neymar, Thiago Silva, Marcelo
Holland- Robben, Van Persie, Wesley Sneijder
Colombia- James, Juan Cuadrado
Belgium- Eden Hazard, Thibaut Courtois, Vincent Kompany, Kevin de Bruyne, Romelu Lukaku
England- Jack Wilshere, Wayne Rooney, Daniel Sturridge, Steven Gerrard
Croatia- Mario Mandzukic, Luka Modric, Ivan Rakitic
Italy- Gigi Buffon, Andrea Pirlo, Giorgio Chiellini
France- Paul Pogba, Hugo Lloris, Karim Benzema
USA- Clint Dempsey, Tim Howard
Portugal- Cristiano Ronaldo, Pepe
Ivory Coast- Yaya Toure, Didier Drogba, Gervinho
Costa Rica- Bryan Ruiz, Keylor Navas, Christian Bolanos

As with any World Cup there were huge moments which will live on in the history of football forever.

Klose became the all-time leading goalscorer in World Cup history. He scored in the semi-final vs. Brazil getting his 17th goal in the competition. He passed the legend Pele who has 16. Klose has written his name in the history books of the World Cup with that, and who knows how long it will be until his record is broken.

Going back to that semi-final in which Klose scored his historic goal, that game was even more memorable for it’s final scoreline. Germany beat Brazil 7-1. Every football fan remembers where they were watching the game and that is something that I don’t think any fan will ever forget. It was the most astonishing game I have ever seen and it is still remarkable to think that Brazil, the host nation, allowed that to happen to them. But Germany were that good and were gladly taking advantage of Brazil’s lackluster play which saw them give the ball away countless times. Neymar and Thiago Silva were both out of the match for injury and suspension respectively, but even without those two Brazil should have at least put up a fight. Images of Brazil fans in tears is something that should live long in the memory of those Brazil players who let down their country.

Related to that 7-1 defeat is again the fact that Neymar was injured. He was injured in the Quarterfinal vs. Colombia, by Zuniga. It was a bad attempt for the ball and he ended up giving Neymar a knee in his back. There were reports coming out after the injury was assessed which said had the knee been a little higher Neymar could have been paralyzed and never playing football again. Neymar was devastated at not being able to play in the semi-final however and sent out a heartfelt video message to Brazil fans and players. Needless to say, they really could have used his help.

The biggest surprise team of the tournament was Costa Rica who won their group of death ahead of Uruguay, Italy, and England. They shocked everyone when they beat Uruguay 3-1 in their opening match. A 1-0 win vs Italy and then a 0-0 draw with England was certain enough to justify their place at the top of Group D. Keylor Navas, their keeper, was a sensation and earned himself a huge reputation and a big money move to Los Blancos. Other players who shone were Bryan Ruiz and Christian Bolanos. Overall though it wasn’t the individual talent that carried Costa Rica. It was the strong team spirit and a team who knew what to do to get the job done. Their manager Jorge Luis Pinto did a wonderful job with the squad and this World Cup is one of the landmarks in the history of Costa Rican football.

In this World Cup Suarez struck again. Or rather bit again. For the third time in his career Suarez bit an opponent. In Uruguay’s final group game against Italy Suarez bit Chiellini and he wasn’t even sent off. He claimed to have had Chiellini’s shoulder hit his mouth but we all saw and we all know the truth.

If Costa Rica were the biggest surprise team, then James Rodriguez was the biggest surprise player of the tournament. He was rising into stardom through the group stages with his goals and performances but it was his goal against Uruguay in the final 16 which really brought him to the forefront of world football. That volley was in my opinion the best goal of the tournament and his great play earned him a big money move to Real Madrid as well, which hasn’t turned out as well as Navas’s however.

2014 was in many people’s mind the death of Tiki-Taka. Specifically in the 5-1 match between Spain and Holland. That game was almost the representation of how modern football moved from a passing game to a counter attacking game, which we can still see the effects of today. Spain played poorly and were not able to pass in the tiki-taka style they were used to successfully. They lost twice and did not advance out of the group. Since then we have not seen any team dominate a league or cup with the same tiki-taka style Barcelona and Spain had used so effectively in the years before the 2014 World Cup.

Another huge moment was in the round of 16 when Mexico lost to Holland because of two late goals, one of which coming from a Robben dive in the last minutes to win a pk. Mexico was up 1-0 with minutes left when Wesley Sneijder scored to tie it up 1-1. It looked like things were headed to extra-time but when Robben went down in the box, Holland were awarded a PK and went on to win 2-1 from it. Robben took an obvious dive to win the last minute penalty, which sparked the meme “no era penal” which means, “it was not a penalty. Mexico are still hurting from that exit from the World Cup and their continued curse of the 5th game.


The Final 

Rio De Janeiro

Maracana Stadium

July 13th, 2014

Germany vs. Argentina

Final Score: 1-0 Germany (Mario Gozte 113′)

Germany Manager: Joachim Low

Argentina Manager: Allejandro Sabella

MOTM: Gotze

2014 final line ups



3rd Place: Holland

Top Scorer: James Rodriguez (6 Goals)

Top Assister: Juan Cuadrado & Toni Kroos (4 Assists)

Best Player Award: Lionel Messi

Best Keeper: Manuel Neuer

Best Young Player: Paul Pogba

Goals per game: 2.7


I hope you guys enjoyed this overview of the 2014 World Cup. Any feedback is always welcome. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s